Student Advisory Board

The Student Advisory Board acts as liaisons between the Hertie School student community and the Centre for Fundamental Rights and provides advice on programming, events and other activities hosted by the Centre. Board members are nominated to serve for one academic year.

To learn more please visit our Meet the Centre event on 24 September or contact us: fundamentalrights[at]hertie-school[dot]org

Applications to become a member of the Student Advisory Board are due 30 October 2020. Please send your application to kramer[at]hertie-school[dot]org.

Members of the Student Advisory Board

Benedikt Hecking, MIA 2021

Before joining Hertie School, Benedikt Hecking graduated with a Master of Arts in Philosophy from the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. In his master thesis he analysed the ethical justification of humanitarian interventions and the international state responsibility. He completed his undergraduted studies in philosophy, political science and sociology at the Technische Universität Dresden, in which he specialised in the philosophy of human rights and the area of global justice and responsibility. His vast interest in human rights and ethics motivated him to join the Centre for Fundamental Rights.

Flore Postel-Vinay, MIA 2021

After an undergraduate degree in the abstract and theoretical fields of mathematics and philosophy, Flore Postel-Vinay decided to redirect her attention and path towards a more concrete and practical substance. She is currently a second year MIA student at the Hertie School. Her deep desire to understand the fundamentals of this world, in particular the fundamental rights of every individual, have led her to join the Student Advisory Board of the Centre for Fundamental Rights.

Dania Abu-Sharkh, MIA 2021

Dania is currently in her second year of the Masters of International Affairs degree at Hertie School. She holds a bachelor’s degree in psychology from the University of Edinburgh, where she wrote her thesis on the effects of stress on feelings of empathy. After completing her undergraduate degree, Dania volunteered as an English teacher in the West Bank and completed an internship with the Global Public Policy Institute in Berlin. Her interest in fundamental rights evolve around self-determination of the Palestinian population and developing rights for individuals living under oppressive regimes in the Arab region.