Kick-off of Berlin School of Economics

Hertie School is part of the Berlin-wide doctoral and postdoc network in economics.

The Berlin School of Economics (BSE), a new doctoral and postdoc cooperation involving economics programmes at institutions across the city, kicked off on 19 September. The research-oriented network joins together the resources of eight participating institutions: the Hertie School, Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, TU Berlin, Universität Potsdam, ESMT Berlin, DIW Berlin and the Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB).

The cooperation unites two previously established doctoral networks under one umbrella: the city-wide BDPEMS and DIW’s Graduate Center. The Berlin School of Economics further advances the Berlin Economics Research Associates (BERA), a Berlin-wide postdoctoral network, which offers training and mentoring for postdocs in economics.

Prospective PhD students apply to the Berlin School of Economics and enrol at the participating university where their supervisor is a faculty member. The programme offers four tracks: a PhD in Economics and three business tracks – a PhD in Accounting, a PhD in Finance, and a PhD in Management. Despite the different foci of the tracks, they all share a common structure in their curriculum.

BSE students take courses at the participating universities and benefit from numerous research seminars organised jointly by the BSE partner institutions. BSE offers students access to a high-level, academic research environment alongside applied, policy-oriented research opportunities. Students receive state-of-the-art coursework training and then select a wide array of specialisations at one of the participating institutions.

At an event celebrating the new cooperation on 19 September, Nobel Prize in Economics recipient Jean Tirole gave a keynote speech on “Public Policy for a Digital Economy”.

More information about BSE can be found here.

More information about the Hertie School's doctoral programmes can be found here