Press release

Henrik Enderlein steps down as President of the Hertie School

Undergoing cancer treatment, Enderlein will stay at the Hertie School as a member of the faculty. Mark Hallerberg will be named Acting President.

Henrik Enderlein will step down as President and Academic Director of the Hertie School effective 1 March, 2021. Enderlein was diagnosed with advanced cancer (melanoma) last August and has since been on medical leave.

“My health has steadily improved over the past months, and I am confident I can soon restart some of my activities,” Enderlein said in a statement. “But during my recovery, I will not be able to provide the full-time commitment, energy, dedication and leadership which the Presidency of the Hertie School needs and deserves.” Enderlein will stay at the Hertie School as Professor of Political Economy and will remain affiliated with the Hertie School’s Jacques Delors Centre, which he founded in 2014.

Deputy President, Mark Hallerberg, who has been a Professor of Political Economy and Public Management at the Hertie School since 2007, will be appointed Acting President and Academic Director of the Hertie School gGmbH. Hallerberg will remain supported by Managing Director Axel Baisch, Dean of Research and Faculty Mark Kayser, Dean of Graduate Programmes Christine Reh and Dean of Executive Education Andrea Römmele.

“We are immensely grateful for Henrik Enderlein’s inspiring leadership throughout the past two and a half years. His vision and his untiring dedication to excellence in teaching and research have positioned the Hertie School among the leading public policy institutions in the world,” said Frank Mattern and Bernd Knobloch, Chairmen of the Hertie School Boards. “We respect Henrik Enderlein’s choice to focus his time and energy on his health and his family, and we wish him all the very best as he continues with his cancer treatment.”

The appointment process for a new Hertie School President, as guided by the Hertie School statutes, is in preparation. A search committee, composed equally of members appointed by the Board of Trustees and the Academic Senate will be established in the next weeks. Acting President Mark Hallerberg is designated to serve through the end of the Academic Year 2021/22.