Opening of the academic year 2019/2020

Our opening of the academic year ceremony is not only an important opportunity to welcome new students, but also for the entire Hertie School community, members of our boards, representatives of the Hertie Foundation, closest partners and friends to start the upcoming year with faculty, researchers, returning students, alumni and administration.

The academic year 2019/2020 will usher in many exciting developments at the Hertie School and kicks off with a new tradition. Each year an outstanding member of our faculty will deliver a keynote speech, with which we will honour a senior faculty member and showcase the knowledge created at the Hertie School.

Johanna Mair will give the inaugural faculty keynote on the topic of “Organising in and for society.”  Drawing from her research, she will discuss how we can tackle persistent and newly arising societal challenges. Mair will offer insights into alternative forms of organising that combine elements of different sectors to pursue social problems. Yet we know little about how they create impact – understood as making progress on a social problem – and the role innovation and scaling play in creating this impact. 

In addition, the DAAD Prize on behalf of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) will be presented for the fifth time to one of our international students.


Opening speech by Henrik Enderlein, President, Hertie School

Faculty keynote,“Organising in and for society” by Johanna Mair, Professor for Organization, Strategy and Leadership, Hertie School

Awarding of the 2019 DAAD Prize by Christine Reh, Dean of Graduate Programmes and Professor of European Politics, Hertie School

About the DAAD Prize

The DAAD Prize is awarded by universities in Germany to honour an international degree-seeking student who has excelled academically and shown remarkable social or intercultural engagement.  All employees of the Hertie School (faculty and administration) are eligible to submit nominations. A committee consisting of the Dean of Graduate Programmes and representatives from the offices of Student Life and Career Development have selected the winner from these nominations.