Meet the AFAR team

Team at the Hertie School

Team at the University of Copenhagen

  • Project lead:
    Thomas Gammeltoft-Hansen
    , professor with special responsibilities in migration and refugee law at the University of Copenhagen.

  • William Hamilton Byrne, Postdoctoral Researcher at the University of Copenhagen.

  • Asta Sofie Stage Jarlner, PhD fellow at the Faculty of Law, University of Copenhagen. 

Team at the University of Zagreb

  • Project lead: 
    Iris Goldner Lang
    , Jean Monnet Professor of European Union Law at the University of Zagreb, Faculty of Law. 

  • Matija Kontak, PhD Researcher at the Zagreb University, Faculty of Law, Department of European Public Law.

  • Ana Kršinić, PhD Reseacher at the University of Zagreb Faculty of Law Jean Monnet Chair of European Public Law.

Team at the University of Oxford

  • Project lead: 
    Derya Ozkul, Senior Research Fellow at the Refugee Studies Centre, Department of International Development, University of Oxford.

Team at the European University Institute

  • Project lead: 
    Martin Ruhs
    , Professor of Migration Studies and Deputy Director of the Migration Policy Centre (MPC) at the European University Institute (EUI).


  • Lenka Dražanová, Research Fellow at the Observatory of Public Attitudes to Migration (OPAM) project at the European University Institute (EUI).

International Advisory Board

E. Tendayi Achiume, Professor of Law at the University of California, Los Angeles School of Law, and the UN Special Rapporteur on Contemporary Forms of Racism, Racial Discrimination, Xenophobia and Related Intolerance.

Jeremias Adams-Prassl, Professor of Law, Fellow of Magdalen College, and Deputy Director of the Institute of European and Comparative Law. 

Eveline Brouwer, Assistant Professor Public Law, Migration and Technology, Utrecht University.

Lilian Edwards, Professor of Law, Innovation and Society at Newcastle Law School.

Fleur Johns, Professor, School of Global & Public Law, Faculty of Law & Justice, UNSW Sydney, Australian Research Council Future Fellow, and a Visiting Professor at the University of Gothenburg, Sweden.

Lorna McGregor, Professor of International Human Rights Law, Director of ESRC Human Rights, Big Data and Technology Project, Essex Law School and Human Rights Centre, University of Essex.

Thomas Moeslund, Professor and Head of Center for AI for the People, Technical Faculty of IT and Design, Aalborg University.

Petra Molnar, Dr, Associate Director of Refugee Law Lab, York University.

Matthias Spielkamp, Co-founder and Executive Director of AlgorithmWatch.

John Tasioulas, Professor of Ethics and Legal Philosophy, Director of the Institute for Ethics in AI, Faculty of Philosophy, University of Oxford.

Alexander Teytelboym, Associate Professor in Economics, Department of Economics, University of Oxford.

Niovi Vavoula, Senior Lecturer in Migration and Security, Queen Mary University of London. 

Sandra Wachter, Associate Professor and Senior Research Fellow, Oxford Internet Institute, University of Oxford.

A partnership between: